1500pts necrons vs marines

So today I face an army of codex space marines. This is a leauge game and I am defending my top spot. My opponent is adam smith, who is a good gamer. He plays many games and is a ww2 buff.

Today’s game will be brought to you by the letter C and the colour green.  I am using my C’tan shard.  I have choosen 2 expensive options,  but with a clear plan in mind.

image

The grand illusion is my opening salvo. This power allows you to change the deployment of D3 units after deployment is finished. It can be used to to put squads into reserve and to pull the out of reserve.  To be very cheesy,  I intend to pull my flyers out of reserve.  If they can kill more than 40pts in the first turn, then the power has paid for its self. With the death ray and 2 Tesla destructors this is relatively easy.

Second power is the infamous gaze of death. I know Adam loves his terminators. This power is used after close combat. Placing a large blast template after combat has been resolved it causes 1 s3 AP1 wound on every model touched.  Every wound caused regenerates a wound on the c’tan shard. At 50 points its the most expensive power, but can kill a lot of heavily armored troops. One trick to note with the C’tan is that as well as being a monstrous creature,  they are also a character so can be challenged.   The plan is to get him into combat with the terminators,  challenge the squad leader. Killing him will be easy with a s7 mc with 4 attacks I4, and then decimate the squad with the GoD.  By challenging they rest of the squad cant attack him!

So that’s the plan for the C’tan.  At a whooping 275 pts he is very pricey, but comes with some serious cheese. Here is the full army list that I am Taking.

Necron Overlord: Phaeron; warscythe; mindshackle scarabs; sempiternal weave; resurrection orb. 215
• 1 Cryptek: Harbinger of the Storm (lightning field).

C’tan Shard: Grand Illusion; Gaze of Death. 275

12 Necron Warriors 256
• Night Scythe
12 Necron Warriors 156

3 Necron Destroyers: heavy gauss cannon140
3 Necron Destroyers 120
5 Canoptek Scarabs 75

Annihilation Barge: gauss cannon. 90
Doom Scythe 175

1,502 points

I will post a battle report later, until then, see you across the table.

One thought on “1500pts necrons vs marines

Leave a Reply

