‘Cron vs ‘nid the first fight.

On Thursday I am facing a tyranid force,1500 pts with Necron. its the first time I have fought the bugs for a loooooong time and its the first time with the necron. I really don’t know what to expect, so I need to rely on what I can control.

So I will dip into my favourite list and tweak it out for the ‘Nids. Here is my list for the game.

Necron Vs Nids (Necrons) – 1,501 points

HQ
Necron Overlord (200)
WS4·BS4·S5·T5·W3·I2·A3·Ld10·Sv3+
warscythe; mindshackle scarabs; sempiternal weave; resurrection orb. Ever-living; Independent Character; Reanimation Protocols.
1 Cryptek
WS4·BS4·S4·T4·W1·I2·A1·Ld10·Sv4+
Harbinger of the Storm (voltaic staff; ether crystal). Ever-living; Reanimation Protocols.

Elites
10 Deathmarks (190)
WS4·BS4·S4·T4·W1·I2·A1·Ld10·Sv3+
synaptic disintegrators. Deep Strike; Ethereal Interception; Hunters from Hyperspace; Reanimation Protocols.

C’tan Shard (240)
WS5·BS5·S7·T7·W4·I4·A4·Ld10·Sv4+
necrodermis; Pyreshards; Grand Illusion. Monstrous Creature; Fearless; Eternal Warrior; Immune to Natural Law.

Troops
11 Necron Warriors (243)
WS4·BS4·S4·T4·W1·I2·A1·Ld10·Sv4+
gauss flayers. Reanimation Protocols.
Night Scythe
BS4·FA11·SA11·RA11·HP3
twin-linked tesla destructor. Vehicle (Flyer); Transport (15 models); Deep Strike; Invasion Beams; Living Metal; Supersonic.

11 Necron Warriors (143)
WS4·BS4·S4·T4·W1·I2·A1·Ld10·Sv4+
gauss flayers. Reanimation Protocols.

Fast Attack
5 Necron Destroyers (220) WS4·BS4·S4·T5·W1·I2·A1·Ld10·Sv3+
4× gauss cannon; heavy gauss cannon. Jump Infantry; Preferred Enemy (Everything!); Reanimation Protocols.

Heavy Support
Annihilation Barge (90)
BS4·FA11·SA11·RA11·HP3
quantum shielding; twin-linked tesla destructor; gauss cannon. Vehicle (Open-topped, Skimmer); Living Metal.

Doomsday Ark (175)
BS4·FA11·SA11·RA11·HP4
doomsday cannon; 2 gauss flayer arcs; quantum shielding. Vehicle (Open-topped, Skimmer); Living Metal.

I have removed the scarabs and tweaked the C’tan. I then dropped a few warriors and 2 destroyers, This saved enough for a 10 man unit of deathmarks.

I love the deathmarks kit and nothing scares more than a big sniper unit. The hunters from hyperspace rule (HfH) is a nice one vs Nids. 1 enemy unit is nominated as the target, This marked squad is wounded on 2+ with any shots from a Deathmarks squad. This includes any characters that join them.

The poisoned hits will help me take down the big beasts and with destroyers, I should be able kill the big threats early one. The 3 twin linked tesla destructors will be used to maul the horde units. The C’tan will be used protect the gun line.

My worries?

I have 3 units that i know he used that I am worried about.

The flying hive tyrant- it’s flying slash Attack is nasty and I worry about my a-barge. My barge has a huge target on its back.
The doom of mala’tai- I have never fought this and I know he likes it.
Genestealers- Now this is a historic fear. My old ‘Nid opponent used lots of these and I lots so many games due to them. These will get just out of spite.

His weakness

He lacks any real anti aircraft defences while I have 2 flyers
I have a death ray (see previous blog)
He has little experience against the necrons, and has never met a C’tan

So that’s my plan and following previous games, I am confident. Adam is a good player and this will be good game. I am hoping to kill the big stuff first and dominate early one. I really don’t know how this will go. All I know is this will be a great game. Played at shadow games, Rugby, against a great opponent, we can be sure of a memorable game. As always I will try to tweet out in games reports and follow up with a post game debrief.

Until then, see you across the table.

One thought on “‘Cron vs ‘nid the first fight.

  1. Pingback: 1500pts Necron Vs Tyranids-The closest of mIsses! | ozrax's Blog

Leave a Reply

