1500pts Necron Vs Tyranids-The closest of mIsses!

I fought my friend Adam Crooke today at Shadow Games. It was a League game and I think. the First away game for the league. we did this way as my work has really got in the way recently.

I don’t have his full list but it was something like this.

Winged Tyrant

Trygon Prime

Zoanthrope

The Doom of M’aakli (in Spore pod)

3 Warriors

6 Genestealers with broodlord

6 Ymgarl Genestealer

2*10 Termagants

Carnifax (in Spore pod)

I may have got some bits wrong, but that’s the main thrust. my list is here.

It was 1500pts game and we rolled to play ‘Purge the Alien’ with a Hammer and Anvil. We rolled for warlord traits. and Promptly forgot both. (we did not need them.) his was ‘move through Ruin’ but the whole army has move through cover. I got immoveable object, which in hindsight would have helped!

He got the first turn and choose to deploy first. he only deployed the Tyrant, termagants, Zoanthrope and the 3 warriors.

I lined up  with 1 unit of Warriors, my Destroyers, the C’tan,  the A-Barge lined across the board. I then used the Grand illusion and pulled the 2 flyers out of reserve and add them to my left flank.

Image

I stole the 1st turn and the game was on. My main attack is the killer blow in the first turn and kill as much as possible. the Fliers do this well, but he had packed them in as you can see in the Picture. this was going to messy.

The flyer surged to the left, with the rest of the army advancing. shooting was the a brutal affair and when the green smoke cleared, only the Tyrant stood amongst the broken bodies. below is a pic of the dead at the end of turn one. it was around 33% of his entire army!

Image

His highlight was 5 wounds rolling 5 6 saves! Epic

Image

His First turn was less effective with his flying Tyrant causing 1 glancing hit to the Nightscythe. turn 2 was as close as you can get to a 1 turn tabling as its possible to get. I blasted away with everything at the Tyrant. the 2 flyers zoomed off the board and despite the blasting, the damn thing did not die.

Then he rolled for reserves. the lot turned up and man, it was brutal. with stealers on both flanks, the Ymgarl Genestealer in Chrage range of the Destroyers, the Doom in the center of my forces and the Trygon off to the Left. the shooting killed a hand full of Warrior. he charged in with the Ymgarl Genestealer and the Tyrant killing more of the Necrons. I also brought on my Deathmarks and I marked the Trygon for death.

Image

The fight had truly started!

Image

turn 3 was massive fight. The Flyers returned killing  a little but wounding the Carnifex and Trygon and the a-barge finally in range, causing another wound. the C’tan charge the Doom and the Lord charged the Tyrant. at the end of all the the Doom was down to 2 wound and the Tyrant died. By now I have both First blood and Slay the warlord.

Image

Image

Now his turn 3 was another building turn, he inflicted some serious damage. his shooting was limiting, but he made up with some fearsome combat. he charged his Trygon in the A-Barge. the massive creature tore the little skimmer to bits. This was the first time this had died and he killed it in style. He moved it away from the  Deathmarks and theYmgarl Genestealer wiped out the Destroyers. The other Genestealers and the Carnifex charged in to the overlord and warriors. Combat was a draw.  All in all the game was very close.

Image

Turn  4 continued in the same vain. death and destruction. I fried the Trygon, with the Deathray failing to wound,  but the Teslas, scoring 10 hits killing it. the Doom was finally killed and one of the pods died. The  Ymgarl Genestealer took a casualty, and combat continued for the overlord.

His turn saw the Overlord die, and the last of his warrior unit. and the remaining pod shot at the fliers. Sadly he failed to harm them. he also killed the C’tan, its death taking a Genestealer with it.

Image

turn 5 saw the flyers out of position and the deathmarks the only squad now in a possition fire. they caused a single wound on the ‘fex and in combat the newly reurected lord killed the last Ymgarl Genestealer. the barrelled the fex into the Deathmarks, killing 4. They ran and the game ended.

Final score was 12vp (necron) to either 6 or 7vp (tyranids) Why the 6 or 7 you ask? Well the Overlord died. (slay the Warlord?) but got back up (Didn’t slay the Warlord?) it did not make a difference in the end. the game was a Necron win, but I had to fight for it!

It was a great game and I really enjoyed the challenge  Adam is a great player. the game was technical, but not rules driven. his interpenetration of the rules is well balanced and it is good to fight a game were the game is central  but flexible in the use of rules. we both made rules errors, but we allowed them to fixed and if we could not sort it, the, the dice decided  I can’t wait to play him again and know it will be closer still. Shadow Games did us proud again and the coffee was OK.

So what did my first game against the Bugs teach me?

  1. Avoid them in Combat! (like I did not already know that!) he did a great job in maximising his list and getting the combat units in to combat. he did not waste time, he just charged on in with a single minded purpose. his Table craft was very high in this regard. 
  2. The Doom of M’aakli is a Pain. its 3++ save and its spirit Leach is a total bitch.  I need to think about how to handle it.
  3. Trygon vs A-barge is always going to be a bad Necron outcome.

I did ponder the use of the overlord and I think I should have stuck with my gut instinct and swapped the Overlord and Cryptek with a destroyer lord. I think I will do the next time, or add a command barge instead?  The rest of the force did well. I could drop a squad of Warriors for the Tougher immortals, but I don’t think it would make a huge difference. The flyers did ok, the A-barge did not, but I think it was an off day. It still has a place in all my lists.

So that was today’s game.  next up could be a big one, 4500pts in a 3 on 3 game with my Orks.

Till then, see you across the Table.

4 thoughts on “1500pts Necron Vs Tyranids-The closest of mIsses!

  1. Another great battle report, re-igniting my desire to play 40K! I like the little round up at the end as well!

Leave a Reply

