Bring out the Great Green Steamroller!

It’s league game time again, and  I am facing the might of the imperial guard. Controlled by Matt. This is a reasonable army, but he is currently 12th in the league. He deserves to higher as he is good opponent. We have meet recently, but it was my necrons that defeated him. This time around he has challenged my Orks. This is a new challenge for me as I have not used them in a smaller game for over 8 months!

I have not blogged about my Orks much, but while they are an older army, they are still a great force to game with. They are a speed freak army based a rouge group of evilsuns. The whole force is mounted on one form of transport or another. I don’t use walkers, or big gunz. The core of the army are my bikes. 7 warbikes and 6 nob bikers, led by the red Barun, a warboss on a bike. I have around 4,000 points with 4 trukks and 2 battlewagons. One of the big things missing from the force are flyers. I have a plan for a dakkajet, but like many of my projects, it may never happen. I hope that I will get one soon, but the necrons are my current force and I have forgeworld units coming soon, so I think this might take awhile.

My plan.

I only know one way to play Orks. Fast and brutal! I set up as close to the front line as possible. Turn one is flat out, that should put me 6″ from the opponents deployment zone, as long as they survive the shooting in return, turn 2, declare a waargh, then it is everyone out of the transports and now the whole army is now in the opponents deployment zone and blasting/charging away. The warbikes, will be charging and if possible so will the boys. Any surviving vehicles then support with big shootas. It is not a subtle plan, but effective. I forgo all shots in turn one and this can be hard for me as the necron force is all about shooting.

My list for this game is as follows.

Da Broken Clutch V1 (Orks) – 1,502 points

HQ
Warboss (115) WS5·BS2·S5·T5·W3·I4·A4·Ld9·Sv6+
warbike; attack squig; stikkbombz. Independent Character; Furious Charge; Mob Rule; Waaagh!

Warboss (95) WS5·BS2·S5·T5·W3·I4·A4·Ld9·Sv6+
power klaw; twin-linked shoota; ‘eavy armour; stikkbombz. Independent Character; Furious Charge; Mob Rule; Waaagh!

Troops
6 Big Boss’s Nobz (350) WS4·BS2·S4·T4·W2·I3·A3·Ld7·Sv6+
3× choppa; 2× big choppa; power klaw; 6× slugga; Waaagh! banner; warbikes. Furious Charge; Mob Rule; Waaagh!
Painboy WS4·BS2·S4·T4·W2·I3·A3·Ld7·Sv6+
dok’s tools; ‘urty syringe.

12 Ork Boyz (127) WS4·BS2·S3·T4·W1·I2·A2·Ld7·Sv6+
shootas; big shoota. Furious Charge; Mob Rule; Waaagh!.
Nob WS4·BS2·S4·T4·W2·I3·A3·Ld7·Sv6+
slugga; big choppa.
• Trukk BS2·FA10·SA10·RA10·HP3
big shoota. Vehicle (fast, open-topped); Transport Capacity: 12 models, models in mega armour count as 2 models; Ramshackle.

Da Foot Nobz (10 Big Boss’s Nobz) (470) WS4·BS2·S4·T4·W2·I3·A3·Ld7·Sv6+
6× choppa; big choppa; 3× power klaw; 10× slugga; Waaagh! banner. Furious Charge; Mob Rule; Waaagh!.
Painboy WS4·BS2·S4·T4·W2·I3·A3·Ld7·Sv6+
dok’s tools; ‘urty syringe.
• Battlewagon BS2·FA14·SA12·RA10·HP4 lobba; 3× big shoota; red paint job; deff rolla. Vehicle (tank, open-topped); Transport Capacity: 20 models, models in mega armour count as 2 models.

Fast Attack
7 Warbikers (210) WS4·BS2·S3·T4(5)·W1·I2·A2·Ld7·Sv4+
sluggas; choppas; warbikes; twin-linked dakkaguns. Furious Charge; Mob Rule; Exhaust Cloud.
Nob WS4·BS2·S4·T4(5)·W2·I3·A3·Ld7·Sv4+
power klaw; slugga; warbike; twin-linked dakkagun.

3 Deffkoptas (135) WS4·BS2·S4·T4(5)·W2·I3·A3·Ld7·Sv4+ 3× twin-linked rokkit launcha; choppas; deffkoptas. Furious Charge; Mob Rule; Scouts; Hit and Run.

I have gone heavy on the nobs this time out and I am running 2 warbosses. This is not my normal list, but I hope to scare the b’jesus out of him. These will kill any of his many tanks. I know he likes his leman Russ tank squadrons, so these are my answer to that. The nob bikers are always great, but I using my 10 nobs in a battle wagon. It’s deffrolla will make a mess of any tanks and I hope to ram this unit straight into his lines. With 3 power klaws they will be my can openers, but will crush any puny ‘umans. It also allows me to have both squads as troop choices. This gives me 3 scoring units. My core worry is his Valkyrie. I have little that can kill it. I need to get my bikes behind it. The S5 assault 3 twin linked should make a real mess of it. My 3 defkoptta should help and that why I took the rokkit lunchas. The twin linked will help, but it could mess up my whole plan. If it drops a troop choice and takes an objective in my deployment zone, that’s 4 vp. A hard thing to solve. My bikes might sort it, but by turn 3 they will have taken some major casualties.

His army
Matt brought a whole new list. Still tank heavy, but using new units and a different plan. As far as I know, this was the core of his list.

HQ

Company Command Squad (115) WS3·BS4·S3·T3·W1·I3·A1·Ld7·Sv5+
vox-caster; carapace armour; lasguns or laspistols; close combat weapons; frag grenades.
Company Commander WS4·BS4·S3·T3·W3·I3·A3·Ld9·Sv5+
laspistol; close combat weapon; refractor field; frag grenades; krak grenades. Senior Officer.
Master of Ordnance WS3·BS4·S3·T3·W1·I3·A1·Ld7·Sv5+
laspistol; close combat weapon; frag grenades. Artillery Bombardment.
Veteran Weapons Team WS3·BS4·S3·T3·W2·I3·A2·Ld7·Sv5+
autocannon; lasgun; frag grenades.

Primaris Psyker (70) WS4·BS4·S3·T3·W2·I3·A3·Ld9·Sv5+ Lightning Arc; Nightshroud; flak armour; laspistol; force weapon; frag grenades; refractor field. Independent Character; Psyker (Mastery Level 1); It’s For Your Own Good.

Elites
Guardsman Marbo (65) WS5·BS5·S3·T3·W2·I5·A4·Ld7·Sv5+
flak armour; ripper pistol; envenomed blade; frag grenades; melta bombs; demolition charge. Fearless; Stealth; Move Through Cover; Hit and Run; Fleet; Loner; He’s Behind You.

9 Sanctioned Psykers (110) WS2·BS3·S2·T3·W1·I3·A1·Ld9·Sv5+ Weaken Resolve; Soulstorm; laspistols; close combat weapons; flak armour. Psyker; Psychic Choir; Ultimate Sanction.
Overseer WS3·BS3·S3·T3·W1·I3·A2·Ld9·Sv5+

Troops
Veteran Squad (165) WS3·BS4·S3·T3·W1·I3·A1·Ld7·Sv5+
2× meltagun; heavy flamer; lasguns or shotguns; close combat weapons; frag grenades; krak grenades; flak armour.
Veteran Sergeant WS3·BS4·S3·T3·W1·I3·A2·Ld8·Sv5+
laspistol; close combat weapon; frag grenades; krak grenades.
• Chimera BS3·FA12·SA10·RA10·HP3
heavy bolter; heavy bolter; searchlight; smoke launchers. Vehicle (tank); Transport Capacity: 12 models; Amphibious; Mobile Command Vehicle.

Veteran Squad (150) WS3·BS4·S3·T3·W1·I3·A1·Ld7·Sv5+
plasma gun; lasguns or shotguns; close combat weapons; frag grenades; krak grenades; flak armour.
Veteran Sergeant WS3·BS4·S3·T3·W1·I3·A2·Ld8·Sv5+
laspistol; close combat weapon; frag grenades; krak grenades.
Veteran Weapons Team WS3·BS4·S3·T3·W2·I3·A2·Ld7·Sv5+
autocannon; lasgun; frag grenades; krak grenades.
• Chimera BS3·FA12·SA10·RA10·HP3 heavy bolter; heavy bolter; searchlight; smoke launchers. Vehicle (tank); Transport Capacity: 12 models; Amphibious; Mobile Command Vehicle.

Fast Attack
1 Scout Sentinel (60) WS3·BS3·S5·FA10·SA10·RA10·I3·A1·HP2
lascannon; hunter-killer missile. Vehicle (walker, open-topped); Scouts; Move Through Cover.

1 Valkyrie Assault Carrier (155) BS3·FA12·SA12·RA10·HP3 lascannon; 2 multiple rocket pods; sponson heavy bolters; searchlights; extra armour. Vehicle (flyer, hover); Deep Strike; Scout; Grav Chute Insertion.

Heavy Support
1 Leman Russ Squadron (435).
• Leman Russ Exterminator BS3·FA14·SA13·RA10·HP3
Exterminator autocannon; heavy bolter; sponson heavy bolters; searchlights; smoke launchers. Vehicle (tank); Lumbering Behemoth.
Commander Pask BS4 Leman Russ Tank Ace; Crack Shot.
• Leman Russ Demolisher BS3·FA14·SA13·RA11·HP3
Demolisher siege cannon; heavy bolter; sponson heavy bolters; hunter-killer missile; searchlights; smoke launchers. Vehicle (tank); Lumbering Behemoth.

1 Hydra Flak Tank (75) BS3·FA12·SA10·RA10·HP3 2 twin-linked Hydra autocannons; searchlights; smoke launchers; auto-targeting systems; heavy bolter. Vehicle (tank).

As is often the case, I did not see his core plan in the list, but it’s variety and width suggested a great game was going to happen.

Mission and set up
We rolled for game and set up. Playing purge the alien over a dawn of war set up. Rolling for warlords, I got master of the vanguard and Matt got Conquer of cities. I got the first turn and set up first.

Sticking to my plan, the 3 defkopttas set up on the hill to left. Then the bikes, battle wagon, nob bikes with the warboss and trukk boys.

Matt caslted up on his right. Deploying the hydra, executioner, 1 unit of vet and the comm squad. the other vet squad in the chimera set up in the foreground of this block. In the center of the table he set out the demolisher and the psykers. On the far left he set up sentinel. Matt stole the first turn and we moved the scout units. The defkopttas raced ahead using the fortress for cover. The sentinel milled about, but stayed on the hill over looking the center of the table.

set up for the Imperial Guard vs Orks

set up for the Imperial Guard vs Orks

First turn
Matt went first and the central block advanced and then he opened up. He ‘cast’ weaken resolve on the deffkopttas. This was followed by him Basting away he killed 2 defkopttas. With ld 2, the last one fled. First blood to Matt! The rest of my army resisted his shooting. I got very worried when the Demolisher hit the battle wagon. But he failed to harm it.

Turn 1 orks vs Guard

Turn 1 orks vs Guard

In return I declared a waargh. The Orks raced ahead, with the battlewagon nobs jumping out. This left them 8″ away from the psykers chimera. The bikes ended 9″ away. The nob bikes and the trukk rushed full speed.

Shooting was brief. I killed 1 guardsman with my battle wagon. I then charged in. The nobs got 9″ on the charge, the bike got 4 and re rolled 5″!

Combat saw the chimera getting wrecked, but not exploding.

Turn 2

Turn 2 and marbo arrived! Placed near the heart of my army, his plan was clear. With little movement, Matt headed on the shooting phase. Again I braced my self for a torrent of imperial fire. Matt did not disappoint. The sentinel killed the trukk, it’s boys bailing out toward the walker, his tanks to right killed several nobs with both warbosses taking a wound. The psykers used weaken resolve on the nob bikes, leaving them with an ld of 2. He the used soul flayer. This cause 3d6-ld wounds on the target unit.. This could wipe the whole unit! No amour or cover saves, but FNP is still ok. I rolled ‘deny the witch’ and passed! Saving my 400+ unit! They were so gonna die in my next turn! he unloaded all his guns and it should have made a mess! I lost 7 of the Nobz, and I was lucky to hang in. The cover from the Fortress did protect the army.

Marbo Pops up!

Marbo Pops up!

In return I contiued to advance. The Warboss left the Nob Bikers, he headed towards the Psykers. The Nob bikers headed around them lining up on the command squad. The warbikes headed for the Demolisher the Warboss on Foot headed towards Marbo. On the right, the Boys headed up towards the lone sentinel. on to the shooting and i started by killing 2 Psykers, the Nob Bikers unloaded on the Command Squad, killing all but the Master of the Ordnance. The death of the company commander gave me ‘slay the warlord’. The Boys then shot at at and took a glancing hit on the sentinel. The Nobz killed Marbo. but not until he had killed one more of the ork Brutes. The Warboss on the Bike charged the Psykers, their overwatch causing a single wound. In combat he challenge the Primus Psyker. Striking first, the Psyker failed to harm the Warboss, but was smashed in return.  The Warbikes killed the Demolisher, the blast taking out more of the poor psykers. tHowever the brave psykers then rolled double 1 on the break test!

Turn 3

In some games the Dice gods smile at you,  in other they don’t. I would have to say that in turn 3 of this game, they sold their souls hook, line and sinker to me. Not just letting him down, but abandoning him wholesale! It was brutal and hash and didn’t think you can be that unlucky!

His Valk turned up and headed for the Boys. The last Chimera advanced and the Vet squad within disembarked. They lined up to shoot the Warbikes and the sentinel moved away from the rushing boyz.

The sentinel Vs the Boyz

The sentinel Vs the Boyz

Matt’s shooting in summary was as followed.

Vets-

6 Lasguns-No effect

2 plasma-1 hit, no wounds

6 Heavy bolters shots-3 hits, 1 wound, 1 saved.

Vets on the hill-

Master of the Ordance-Missed with the Barrage shot.

Autocannon-1 hit, no wounds.

Pask in the LMR-9 Heavy bolters shots, 4 Autocannon shoots, lots of hits, lots of saves, 1 wound!

Hydra-2 hits, 2 wounds (both on the Warbiker Nob) 2 saves!

Valk-2 rocket pods ‘hit’ 8 covered, 6 Wounds.

6 heavy bolter shots-All miss! (5 x 3’s and 1 x 2)

sentinel- Lascannon Missed.

The total casualty list was 1 warbiker and 6 Boyz!

Close combat saw the Psykers try to harm the Warboss, causing a wound and taking him to 1!, but 3 were killed in return and after a very brave attempt, they finally tried to flee. the Warboss caught and killed them.

Turn 3 from the Last of the Guard

Turn 3 from the Last of the Guard

The orks continued to push the advantage. moving towards the imperial troops, they wiped out both vet squads with shooting. the Nob squad hitting 11 out 18 shoots (needing 5+) to hit! the Battlewagon caused a glancing hit on the Valk and the Boyz wiped out the sentinel. with no targets to charge, the turn ended with out any orks in combat and the game ended. time was running out the result was fairly clear.

The end score was 11-3 to the orks.

My thoughts?

Matt, as always, was great opponent. His list was different and challenging and he loves to experiment.  This good example of this and it makes planning for his army difficult. Some things worked and other did not. Once he dials his plans in, he will wipe the floor with us all! I think he should focus on either long range blasting, or the mech’ advance, the split allowed me to dissect the central element of his force, then line up his tanks on the hill. This divided army lack the cohesion of the orks and my plan to steamroller him was helped by this approach.

His combined psykers where awesome, but needed a bubble wrap unit. The warboss just slaughtered them as a result.

My hopeless use of the Deffkoptta needs to improve. The deployment was poor and they got wiped out as a result, throwing away 2 VP early on. The game was good and I think that I had all the luck. Matt was unfortunate in the extreme in the 3rd turn of shooting, while I rolled high on all my saves. he should have killed a lot more and in Purge the alien, each unit kill is worth VP, he should have had got a better score.

Key learning points

-his Psykers are nasty as hell

-I need to learn to use the Deffkopttas!

-Deny the witch saved my Nob Bikers!

The Gravity Well

Now, I need to apologize to Matt Again! He had his Valk and his reserves on a chair next to the Table. While he went for a smoke, I went to see how the big game was getting on. I clipped the the chair with my heel and the result is shown below

this is damaged to Matts Valk when it fell off the chair

this is damaged to Matts Valk when it fell off the chair

I have never damaged a fellow gamer model before, being very careful with them, but I feel so bad that this happened! Once again Sorry Matt.

So, that’s it. I am still in the lead on the League, but the pressure is mounting. Next up? who knows, till then, see you across the battle table!

Leave a Reply

