Ex terminate!

Ok, so I am a little late for poor Dr who puns, but what the hell, why not!

Today’s post is all about the big armour boys of the first company, the terminators. Currently in my force I only have 6 regular terminators, a sgt, assault cannon and 4 regular terminators all armed with power fists. They are the snap together models from the assault on black ridge box set. As I have a touch of OCD, these needed to be brought up a 10 man squad. I needed a second heavy weapon and a couple of the chainfists. Added to this I have a chaplain and a captain in terminator armour as well as Marenus Calgar in his terminator armour. As the force already has a stormeagle painted and ready to go, I have a great delivery system ready for some big squads on terminators. And yes, the idea of a flying big blue box is not lost on me.

Terminator 1

I also lacked any assault terminators. I wanted to add the a 10man squad, 5 of each weapon options. So a plan was hatched. I have bought 3 boxes of terminators. 1 box of assault marines and 2 boxes of deathwing knights. My plan was to build the 10 knights but use the arms from the assault terms. This will make a gothic looking 1st company squad, the original idea was to keep the hooded head, but using the terminator heads instead, the look more regal than dark. By adding the ultramarine shoulder pads to the mix, I hope the squad would look awesome.

The 4 terminators will be made from the bodies and legs from the assault squads, with the arms left over from the deathwing squads. This meant more trimming off of details!

20131202_074431

The mathematicians amongst you will know that that accounts for 14 of the 15 heavily armed and armoured vetrans. The final set of bits will be assembled as a librarian hooded and cowled, he will be a darker addition to force. Armed with a staff and covered in the regal splendour you’d expect of a terminator of the 13th legion. I hope he will be both dark and brooding, whilst still being an ultramarine.

1385832840777

As a quick aside, my journey into painting ultramarines started with a free terminator from the white dwarf magazine. I was bored on of painting imperial guard and randomly decided to try to paint the free piece as an ultramarine, something that I, like many gamers, thought was an abhorrent act. Ultra smurfs were what newbies with now knowledge of 40k painted right? Shows what I knew back then. Turns out it can be great fun to play using the ‘boring’ marines. They have a hidden depth and people don’t expect them. It fair to say its fun when people stop to look at a nicely painted ultramarine force. Anyway, that’s the plans for my terminators.

Till next time.

2 thoughts on “Ex terminate!

  1. Pingback: WIP: Armored Fist Squad 317 | Central Wisconsin Table-top Gaming

  2. Pingback: Armored Fist Squad 728 (Complete) | Central Wisconsin Table-top Gaming

Leave a Reply

