Project Gladius 2nd company Thunderhawk

So I am starting to plan for my Thunderhawk. Its currently in a box on the shelf while I panic about the build. Its fair to say that this is not a project for the faint hearted.  Its a massive kit with some huge parts but still has some fine detailed parts and crew. The mould is old now and the quality,  while still good, has had the odd  issue.  The instructions are basic and it has no parts list. The “glass” is a peice of flat thin clear plasticard and you don’t have a mounting point for the stand, which you also don’t get.

Now it would easy to turn this blog in to a whinge.  Easy to complain about  a £400.00 for kit the lacks a stand, parts list…..! But I knew all this before I bought it. I wanted a challenge and at the end will be a fantastic peice.

That is what I hope this blog will show you, My trails and tribulations building and then painting this iconic flyer. I want rhe challenge, I want to break our the power power tools and above all I want to really enjoy this project.

So how to approach this epic task? I think I need to break it up. I have found some great blogs on the task and researched the best way to approach this leviathan. I will therfore try to do it in the following order.

-Write a Parts list!
-Check and clean the full kit.
-Prep the core body and super structure.  This will include the flaps and ailerons.  All the work to mag up the frame will be done at this stage. I want to be able to remove the top to expose the crew. I will dry fit the core of the kit at this stage.
-Drill out the major parys for pinning, mainly the wings and main gun
-Assemble and paint the flight deck. (Inc crew)
-Assemble and paint interal main body
-Prep and assamble ancillary items. (Weapons,  landing gear,  air breaks.)
-External weathering
-Make a stand (possibly 2 for display-I need to angle it into the display cabinet)

Well that seems alot! I think it will need to be broken down.

I think I will do it in small stages and paint other bits in between. I will try to blog each stage as we go. Here are the links to the awesome blogs that I have been reading.

http://taleofpainters.blogspot.co.uk/2012/10/thunderhawk-project-overview.html

http://19thlegion.blogspot.co.uk/2011/10/lessons-learned-building-forgeworld.html

Till then, see you access the battle table!

4 thoughts on “Project Gladius 2nd company Thunderhawk

  1. goodluck with the model, its something that I eventually want to build… look forward to seeing more posts about your project.

    your link to the 19thlegion is no longer valid, the site has gone 😦

Leave a Reply

