Sunday review 270414, way late again!

Had another great week in wargaming. A few bits got painted and had a stunning game at club. Also got to play an intro game to 2 people new to this hobby.

Painting
As you may know my painting stack is oversized for me and I am working hard to reduce it! This weeks project has been to finish the sternguard squad and finally have a full 10 man squad. After they are done, it’s going to be tactical 4. Tac4 is a cool looking squad, all converted with a leg swap, the are all running. (I used a mix of assault legs and vanguard legs. They are armed to be a relatively cheap tac squad, but I changed my mind on the special weapon and gave them a grav gun.

The sternguard that need to be done are a mix of combi weapons and a bolter. I am still not 100% happy with the white, but this is we’ll known for being a pain! I want to prefect this before I paint my next term squad, The converted/kit bashed assault terms. I aim to finish these sternguard be Tuesday and move on to the project. I really want to clear the painting Stack as I don’t want to buy any more models till I have halved the current stock pile.

Gaming
Wow, what a league game on Thursday! I was taking on a black Templar army, 1500 pts, using my ultramarines. The game was played dawn of war for the relic.

My list was written to include 2 newish units that I wanted to try out, the knight (errant) and the Lascannon toting stormraven. My basic list

Captian in artificer armour with a power sword
6 sternguard
2 tactical ( 10 man squads, both with missile launchers w/flakk, 1 with a flamer, 1 grav)
2 talons with sky hammer
Raven w/Lascannon and melta
Knight errant

The Templar list from memory
Captain on bike with thunder hammer and storm shield,
5 sternguard in a pod. 2 melta combi, grav combi, in a drop pod.
4 5 man tactical with plasma guns
Raven w/Lascannon, melta and hurricane bolters
5 bikes
Stalker
Techmarine and thunderfire cannon

The game was a relaxed, fun game with lots new stuff getting it’s first airing. The thunderfire was new to dan, my opponent and we got a bit turned around on the rules to start with. However, it was fun to see this model getting used, long and short of this is that yes, I want 1! It proved quite useful. Dan also used a deathwind launcher on the pod and again this proved very useful. The s5 large blast dis whittle a combat squad down.

The big star of the game should have been the knight and to be fair, it stomped across the table, on the right hand flank, leaving broken bodies from the enemy strewn all over the place, but it was the raven/talon mix that won it for me. The delivery of the sternguard and captain on to the relic, killing 2 tactical squads in the process claimed the vp’s to win the game.

We had 2 great moments in this fun game. 1st up was the brave techmarine surviving 2 turns if combat with the knight, tying it up for one of my movement turns. And the death of his badly mauled raven. Thought the game he dodged about 7 penetrating hits, passing his jink saves, by the end of turn 3 it had taken 2 glancing blows, one from a grav (thus locking it’s vector). In turn 4 the multi melta from the raven finally took it out, immobilising it yet again, this took off the last hull point and the stricken transport plummeted to earth. see rolled for distance and direction and the resultant impact just caught the wounded black Templar captain, who promptly failled his 3++ save, killing him! the raven and the 5 marines still stuck inside the flyer! Not bad for a single melta shot? The game ended in a 5-0 victory for the ultramarines and I only lost a fair few tactical marines. The fliers and knight all survived virtually un scratched, the knight having lost a single hull point.

I was asked to give a demo game to 2 potential new club members and it was great fun to share this hobby that I love so much with new people. It took me back to the days when I worked at gw leamington and my role As a red shirt, playing intro games. I used really enjoy this part of the job and we didn’t have the pressures that they seem to heap on the staff these days.

Well, that’s me for the week. Next week should see some new tactical marines getting some paint. I am not at club, so no games but I might get plenty of painting done. Let’s see if I can get a whole combat squad done!

Leave a Reply

