The best of the best of the best- 1st squad, 1st company.

I have been slowly building my ultramarine force of late,  I have been focusing on the 1st and 6th companies.  The bikes of the 6th will be the subject of a different post, so for now I want to talk about the glorious 1st.

20140208-083218.jpg

Sgt for 2nd Squad.

Now my over ambitious plan is to eventually have the complete 1st company.  Currently I have 10 terms (basic) and 10 sternguard painted. So, around 20%. Unpainted I have 10 assault terminators and 5 more stern guard. Next on the list will be 10 vanguard w/jump pack, 10 without (made by combining sternguard and vanguard kits.) And 5 more sternguard (using regular marines and the bits left over from the sternguard kits) I did have some of the older metal sternguard, but they were sold to add some tanks.

That’s 60% of the company right there.  Add 5 man count as command squad in term armour (just because they will look so cool) and that’s a big force! But as with most of grand plans the Ideas often outstrips my ability to afford the parts. And forgeworld keeps releasing knights!

So where am I now?

Well, I am working on the glorious 1st squad, 1st company. I wanted something that really stood out. Something that said we are something special,  even for the ultramarines.  So I planned to make them really pop. My reason for this is simple. In the meritocracy of the ultramarines, who are always striving to be the best, someone has to be the best squad. I have always thought that the 1st squad each battle company would be the top units. So, the 1st squad , 1st company must be something pretty special? The sgt must have some honorific role, being the 1 st Sgt?

The unit started life as 2 boxes of deathwing knights and a box of assault terminators. My plan was to add 5 terms to the then 5 man aobr terminator squad. And 10 assault terminators.  Using a mix of the robed bodies and regular terminators.

20140904_164044

1st squad, 1st Company Built!

The robed bodies have an arched ‘hood’ but the robes also have a lot of dark angels icons. These were easy to remove.  I made the decision to leave the knives and scrolling where needed as they look quite gothic,  but by swapping the heads to regular terminator heads, I avoided the whole masonic look. They now look different from the standard terminators but don’t look like dark angles!  A word of warning.  One of the head is moulded to the body and this took some time to remove.

The next task was to add the regular arms and shoulder pads. I opted for forge world  shoulder pads for 2 reason. 1 – extra blig. 2 – it actually worked out cheaper than buying standard terminator pads off eBay. The Dark angles one in the set are to dark angles to clean up.

Squad weapons options were easy. I had 5 thunderhammer and storm shields with 5 pairs of claws in the assault terminator box.  As i had 10 terminators this was easy. It also allows me to run 2 5 man squads mixed or same weapons. But also to run my stormeagle with all 10. The hammernators can protect the claws as they charge in. The idea of this really appeal to my views of them sweeping out of a storm eagle, a solid wall of shields charging in, then bursting open to revels the claw wielding behemoths.

I have decided that even the paint scheme should make them pop. So I have reversed the shoulder pads. These are now white, with the ultramarine icon in gold, again, a nod to their special place in the chapter. This meant they really stand out. I enjoyed this switch and it works, so the command squad will now have gold shoulders.

20140922_200555

WIP of the HAMMERNATORS

I took the opportunity to add as much gold as I gold, but the heavy cloth look of the robes helps to keep them grounded. They don’t look over the top, but they really pop. I need to add a squad of regular assault terminators to show the difference, but that can wait.

Finished 1st Sgt

Finished 1st Sgt

 

So, the hammer wielding combat squad is done. I am taking a short break to add some tanks, then the claw squad gets done. I hope you get my reasoning for the squad and I look forward to adding the 2nd half. Look out the combat squad in a battle rep soon. They have

Combat Squad done!

Combat Squad done!

to kill!

 

Till then, see you across the battle field.

Leave a Reply

