Sunday update 26/10/14

So it’s Sunday again and here’s another sporadic Sunday update. Having finished my 2 land raiders I am back to painting some basic marines. I do sometimes struggle to motivate my self with troop choices, but I will get these done!

20141020_100337

This week I have been focusing my painting on the 4th tactical squad from the 2nd company (numerical 4th squad, but the 5th to be added to the army) These are my ‘budget squad’ the Sgt is basic with no upgrades. They have Flamer and a heavy Bolter and weigh in at 150pts. I will use them when I a need to save points for something big. They are geared up for hordes and I think they will do ok as a basic troop choice in supporting other more expensive units. Also I am getting ready to add some fortifications to the army, some having a cheap unit to man the weapon systems is always use full.

20141017_200524(0)

Made from mixing a space marine tactical and assault squads with a few left over parts from both sternguard and vanguaurd kits. All have running legs, making the whole squad look like they are advancing to tack an objective.

20141019_130924

I love the movement of this squad, but they are taking a while to get through. 7 are finished with the last few done next week if all goes well.

20141022_194254 20141020_100408

After the marines I am going to try to focus on my 2nd assault squad. The 4 basic marines needing a coat of paint! I struggle to find a way to get the best out of assault marines. I still can’t fathom why the can only take flamers and plasma pistols. Why not grav, meltas and plasma guns? These options would make them very useful and give the marines a great anti tank unit.

20140421_113905

If I can keep the whole troop painting thing going then the 6th tactual squad will be after this. But let’s not count them till they are on the painting table.

Leave a Reply

