The relocation painting challenge

We are having some work done on the house and it’s going to take around 5 weeks. It is so much work, we are having to move out. They are ripping out floors, walls and windows, so we will be without water, power or heating. We are moving into the inlaws home while they tour the south of France in a caravan. 

So while I am out of the house, my painting will be more of a challenge, but I need something to help me chill out during what is going to be a stressfully time. To this end I have decided to challenge my self to to catch up with a few projects. All need to be ultramarines as that limits the amount of paints I need. I have some units to do and a couple of new bits to add to my army. I am challenging my self to paint the following in 5 weeks. 

  1. Command tanks. (Currently around 5%)
  2. Command squad standard bearer and company champion, both on bikes (around 25% done)
  3. Attack bike (unstated)
  4. 5 vanguard on foot (under coated)
  5. 8th company captain (unstated) (stretch target! Don’t think that I’ll get to this one!)

This challenge will help me to stay focused and to take a good chunk out of my to paint pile! The codex has made me want to add to my armoured force, with stalkers, whirlwind, vindicators and predators all on my must get list. However, I really don’t want to be added any new kits until I have painted what I have! (Ok, pipe dream, but I can try) I also want to move most of the army onto 32mm bases. Not because GW say I must, but because I think they look cooler on 32mm over the 28mm. 

Well that’s my plan. Now you can all sit back and watch me fail spectacularly. Till then, see you across the battlefield. 

Leave a Reply

